New Hampshire Mensa MERF Scholarship Essay Contest

Eligible students are United States citizens, enrolled in Planning Accreditation Board (PAB) accredited planning programs, intending to pursue careers as practicing planners in the public sector (which includes local, state & federal government and not-for-profit careers) and are able to demonstrate a genuine financial need. Students must be women and members of one of the following minority groups: African American, Hispanic American or Native American. The application is available online.

The 2009~2010 NH winners of chapter scholarships are:

More details can be found . Download an Application , or contact our .

The 2009~2010 NH winners of national and regional scholarships are:

The Alumnae Association of Omega Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated, awards one scholarship annually. The Reach for the Gold Book Scholarships targets a woman of color who is a college-bound high school senior. The scholarship is an grant of $1,000 and is applied to the high costs of college textbooks in the first year of college.

Congratulations to all of our New Hampshire Mensa winners!

As the cost of attending college increases, financial hardship often serves as a barrier to gaining a college degree. The cost of tuition, room and board, and books can be overwhelming for college-bound students, particularly first-generation college students. For over ten years the Reach for the Gold Book Scholarship has recognized academic and benevolent achievement among young women of color, and supported continued success through the first year of college.

Candidates for our minority student scholarship must meet the following criteria

Danielle Jacobs, San Francisco State University

The American Society of Safety Engineers Foundation, established by and in partnership with the American Society of Safety Engineers, generates funding and provides resources for scholarship, applied research, academic accreditation, and related academic initiatives in order to advance the safety, health, and environmental profession.

Sarah Moran, Chesapeake College

The applicant must be a citizen of the United States of America. She must hold membership in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. She must have experienced an interruption in education of at least five years since college graduation. She must be endorsed by her synodical candidacy committee and be preparing for ordained ministry in the ELCA. The scholarship committee will also consider the applicant’s involvement in Women of the ELCA.

Continuing Student Scholarships

The purpose of this scholarship is to provide assistance to Lutheran women who are second-career students entering their final year at an ELCA seminary. This scholarship was established in 1996 to honor the first bishop of the ELCA, Bishop Herbert W. Chilstrom, and his wife, the Rev. Corinne Chilstrom. It was intentionally begun during the 25th anniversary year of the ordination of women in the predecessor ELCA bodies. The average award has been between $600 and $1,000, and is awarded to women who are working toward ordained ministry.

of Dunbarton, NH - NH first place winner, $500 of Bedford, NH - NH second place winner, $300

Evande Malone, Florida Institute of Technology

Eligible applicants must send in a one-page essay that describes their career aspirations and why they qualify and have a need for a scholarship from this fund. The essay must be double-spaced and typed in 12-point font. The essay will be judged on appearance, content, spelling and grammar.

For this scholarship, we define 'minority' as someone of one of the following ethnicities:

Semiya Rahman, Northeastern Illinois University

The Gump & Ayers Scholarship Fund (GASF), established in 1996 in memory of Marjorie B. Gump, provides a one-time scholarship to a Utah woman who is a high-school graduate and who is a single mother enrolled in higher education.

Candidates for our women's scholarship must meet the following criteria

Tanya Rice, University of Arizona

U.S. citizenship is not required, though in some cases, it is preferred. The same application should be used for both undergraduate and graduate programs. Applicants should fill out the information that is relevant to their status. Incomplete or late applications will be disqualified. Applicants must graduate in May of the award year or later to be eligible for any of these awards. Previous recipients of ASSE Foundation scholarship awards are eligible to receive subsequent awards. ASSE student membership is preferred and costs $15 per year.